The Prince and the Plunder

A book on how Britain took one boy and piles of treasures from Ethiopia

A manuscript including The Octateuch, Samuel and Kings (OR 483)

Published / by Andrew Heavens / Leave a Comment

What: A manuscript finished in 1721, containing The Octateuch – Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges, Ruth – as well as the Books of Samuel and Kings, 1st Kings (Samuel). 2nd Kings (Samuel) and lists of the Kings of Israel and of the Prophets and High Priests in their times.

Where: The British Library, 96 Euston Rd, London NW1 2DB

Ref: OR 483
Digital version:

Stamped at the front: “Presented by the Secretary of State for India Aug. 1868”
Listed as part of the “Magdala collection” in William Wright’s Catalogue of the Ethiopic manuscripts in the British Museum acquired since the year 1847

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *